Faculty

Emeritus Faculty | Adjunct Faculty

Aldredge, Ralph C. III

Professor 
Analytical, computational and experimental studies of turbulent flame propagation and combustion instabilities; Development of computational models and algorithms for simulation of reactive-flow dynamics; biological-fluid dynamics, biomedical heat transfer and tissue Mechanics.
2090 Bainer Hall 
530-752-5016 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/aldredge/
rcaldredge@ucdavis.edu

 

Baldis, Hector lasa

Professor 
High Energy Density Science: Material under extreme conditions, Laser Plasma Interactions in ICF Conditions, Physics with 4th Generation Light Sources, Advance Plasma Diagnostics, Optical Instrumentation from IR to hard X-rays (>1kV)
530-754-9295 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/baldis
habaldis@ucdavis.edu

 

Cheng, Harry H.

Professor 
Extending C/C++ for ubiquitous computing and scripting, network computing, programming environments and programming languages, engineering software design, Web technology and its applications in design and manufacturing, open-architecture enterprise-level system integration, robotics, mechatronics, real-time sensor fusion, factory automation, Web-based computational kinematics and mechanical design. 
2018 Bainer Hall 
530-752-5020 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/cheng
hhcheng@ucdavis.edu

 

Davis, Cristina

Professor
Bioinstrumentation, microelectromechanical (MEMS) sensors and actuators, bioMEMS, nanotechnology, novel clinical diagnostic devices, chemical and biological sensors, biodefense, mechanical design.
101 TB 207
530-754-9004
http://mae.ucdavis.edu/faculty/davisc/
cedavis@ucdavis.edu

 

Davis, Roger L.

Professor 
Turbomachinery using Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD). 
2104 Bainer Hall 
530-752-2264
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/davisrl/
rogerdavis@ucdavis.edu

 

Delplanque, Jean-Pierre

Professor / Faculty Adviser for Graduate Students (Continuing)
Computational and theoretical fluid dynamics and transport phenomena:
multiphase flows, inert and reactive; emerging materials processing methodologies; free surface and interfacial flows; microscale transport phenomena and fluidics with bioengineering applications.
2056 Bainer Hall
530-754-6950
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/delplanque
delplanque@ucdavis.edu

 

D’Souza, Raissa

Associate Professor
Network growth and optimization, with applications to Internet, sensor nets and biology; self-organization and thermodynamics; pattern formation and phase transitions in models of granular flows. 
2095 Bainer Hall
530-754-9089
http://mae.ucdavis.edu/dsouza/
rmdsouza@ucdavis.edu

 

Eke, Fidelis

Professor 
Dynamics and control of mechanical systems, spacecraft dynamics and control, dynamics of variable mass systems. 
2106 Bainer Hall 
530-752-2309 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/eke
foeke@ucdavis.edu

 

Erickson, Paul

Associate Professor 
Energy conversion, transportation technologies, hydrogen generation, solar energy utilization, acoustics, pollution prevention, fluid mechanics, instrumentation 
2102 Bainer Hall 
530-752-5360 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/erickson
paerickson@ucdavis.edu

 

Farouki, Rida T.

Professor
Computer aided design and manufacturing, geometrical algorithms and representations, numerical methods and scientific computing. 
2048 Bainer Hall 
530-752-1779 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/farouki
farouki@ucdavis.edu

 

Hafez, Mohamed M.

Professor 
Transonic aerodynamics, computational fluid dynamics. 
2092 Bainer Hall 
530-752-0212 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/mhafez
mhafez@ucdavis.edu

 

Hess, Ron A.

Professor 
Man-machine systems, automatic and manual control systems, atmospheric flight mechanics, digital control systems.
2058 Bainer Hall 
530-752-1513 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/hess
rahess@ucdavis.edu

 

Hill, Michael R.

Professor / Vice Chair
Fatigue and fracture: effects of constraint, residual stress, and material processing. Finite element method. Experimental mechanics and residual stress determination. Mechanical design. Structural reliability and probabilistic design. Micromechanical systems. 
2014 Bainer Hall 
530-754-6178 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/hill
mrhill@ucdavis.edu

 

Horsley, David A.

Associate Professor /Faculty Adviser for Graduate Students (Admissions)
Micro-electromechanical Systems (MEMS), design and manufacturing of microfabricated sensors 
and actuators, mechatronics and control systems 
2016 Bainer Hall 
530-341-3236
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/horsley
dahorsley@ucdavis.edu

 

Hwang, David

Professor
Main areas of experimental research include tokamak physics, electromagnetic interaction between plasma waves and plasma particles, plasma diagnostic in fusion devices, tokamak fueling with accelerated compact toroids, non-neutral plasmas. Theoretical interests include computer modeling of magnetized plasmas, non-linear interaction of plasma waves 
2097 Bainer Hall 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/hwang
dqhwang@ucdavis.edu

 

Jensen, Niels Gronbech

Professor 
Chair, Applied Science Graduate Group 
Computational materials and soft condensed matter, nonlinear dynamics and complex systems, numerical analysis and methods, macroscopic qauntum phenomena and superconducting device physics
3049 Ghausi Hall
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/jensen
ngjensen@ucdavis.edu

 

Joshi, Sanjay S.

Associate Professor 
Control Systems, Neuroengineering, Robotics, Spacecraft Systems
2054 Bainer Hall
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/joshi
maejoshi@ucdavis.edu

 

Kennedy, Ian M.

Professor 
Aerosols, toxicity of nanoparticles, nanotechnology, optical biosensors. 
2094 Bainer Hall 
530-752-2796, 530-752-7014 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/kennedy
imkennedy@ucdavis.edu

 

La Saponara, Valeria

Assistant Professor
Composite laminate manufacturing; composite laminate physical testing; nondestructive testing
2100 Bainer Hall 
530-754-8938
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/lasaponara
vlasaponara@ucdavis.edu

 

Linke, Barbara

Assistant Professor
Production technology including machine tools with applications in the fabrication of medical devices, automotive and aerospace systems, sustainable and energy-efficient manufacturing processes
2052 Bainer Hall
530-752-6451
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/linke
bslinke@ucdavis.edu

 

Modera, Mark P.

Professor 
Energy performance, HVAC, heat transfer, fluid mechanics, aerosols 
3120 Ghausi Hall 
530-754-7671 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/modera
mpmodera@ucdavis.edu

 

Park, Jae Wan

Assistant Professor
Proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell and battery: In-situ diagnosis using neutron radiography for PEM fuel cell and battery, design and optimization, water management for PEM fuel cell.
2009 Bainer Hall
530-752-5559
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/park
jwpark@ucdavis.edu

 

Ravani, Bahram

Professor 
Computational kinematics and dynamics, bio-dynamics of impact trauma, computational geometry in design and manufacturing, design of mechanical and biomechanical devices. 
1013 Academic Surge 
530-754-6130 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/ravani
bravani@ucdavis.edu

 

Robinson, Stephen K.

Professor
Turbulence flow physics and modeling, experimental techniques, instrumentation, 3D scientific visualization, applied aerodynamics, safety engineering and applied cognitive psychology
2050 Bainer Hall
530-754-9295
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/robinson
stephen.k.robinson@ucdavis.edu

 

Sarigul-Klijn, Nesrin

Professor 
Finite element methods, aerospace structures, aeroelasticity, biomechanics, and vibro-acoustics. 
2108 Bainer Hall 
530-752-0682 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/sarigul
nsarigulklijn@ucdavis.edu

 

Schaaf, James

Lecturer / Academic Administrator / Faculty Adviser for Undergraduate Students
Creative and mechanical design, dynamics, kinematic geometry, applied differential geometry, and manufacturing processes. 
2132 Bainer Hall 
530-752-5548 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/schaaf
jas@ucdavis.edu

 

Shaw, Ben D.

Professor 
Combustion, fluid mechanics, heat transfer. 
2098 Bainer Hall 
530-752-6801 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/shaw
bdshaw@ucdavis.edu

 

Soshi, Masakazu

Assistant Professor
Manufacturing systems and processes, CNC machine tools, mechanical and mechatronics design and analysis, high perfomance machining, CAD/CAM/CAE, production technologies.
2013 Bainer Hall
530-752-8073
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/soshi
msoshi@ucdavis.edu

 

van Dam, C.P “Case”

Department Chair and Warren and Leta Giedt Endowed Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 
Aerodynamics including design and optimization, aircraft design, experimental and computational fluid dynamics, biofluiddynamics, wind energy, aero-hydrodynamics of sailing. 
2004 Bainer Hall 
530-752-7741 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/vandam
cpvandam@ucdavis.edu

 

Velinsky, Steve A.

Professor 
Mechanical design and analysis, vehicle design and dynamics, transportation engineering, power transmission, robotics and automation. 
1007 Academic Surge Building 
530-752-4166 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/velinsky
savelinsky@ucdavis.edu

 

Wexler, Anthony

Professor 
Air pollution, biomedical engineering, single particle analysis. 
3050 Bainer Hall 
530-754-6558 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/wexler
aswexler@ucdavis.edu

 

Yamazaki, Kazuo

Professor 
Mechatronics, microprocess control of machines, CNC machine tool design and control, 3-D coordinate measurement and probing, CAD/CAM, sculptured surface machining, plastic injection molding, powder sintering, network based manufacturing automation integration. 
2020C Bainer Hall 
530-752-2287 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/yamazaki
http://ims.engr.ucdavis.edu/ (Mechatronics Lab) 
kyamazaki@ucdavis.edu


Emeritus Faculty

Baughn, James W.

Professor Emeritus
Heat transfer, liquid crystal thermography, experimental methods, energy systems, flight testing. 
jwbaughn@ucdavis.edu

 

Beadle, Charles

Professor Emeritus 
Mechanical design, engineering mechanics, materials handling (orientation and singulation), rehabilitation engineering, biomedical engineering and packaging. 
cwbeadle@ucdavis.edu

 

Dwyer, Harry

Professor Emeritus 
Fluid dynamics, droplet dynamics, biological fluid dynamics, combustion and flame propagation, internal combustion engines, Chimera Grid methods, and numerical methods. 
hadwyer@ucdavis.edu

 

Chattot, Jean-Jacques

Professor Emeritus
Transonic flows and flows with vortical structures, computational methods. 
2096 Bainer Hall 
530-752-0812 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/chattot
jjchattot@ucdavis.edu

 

Frank, Andrew A.

Professor Emeritus
Mechanical design, control systems, electri-hybrid vehicles, internal combustion engine design, dynamics of machines, automated highways and ground transportation systems. 
103 TB 207 
530-752-8120 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/frank/
aafrank@ucdavis.edu

 

Henderson, Jerry M.

Professor Emeritus 
Design of robust and parameter-insensitive feedback systems, mathematical system theory, system theory applied to socio-environmental systems, bilinear system analysis and analysis of nonlinear control systems. 

 

Hoffman, Myron A.

Professor Emeritus 
Fuel-cell engineering and power plant conceptual design studies, advanced energy conversion, gas turbine power plants. 
mahoffman@ucdavis.edu

 

Hubbard, Mont

Professor Emeritus
Application of system theory, automatic control and parameter identification to various dynamic systems; mechanics, control, and optimization of human motion including locomotion and sport mechanics, especially ski jumping, bobsledding, javelin throwing, and high jumping. 
2008 Bainer Hall 
530-752-6450 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/hubbard
mhubbard@ucdavis.edu

 

Hull, Maury L.

Professor Emeritus
Mechanical and Electromechanical design, instrumentation and signal processing, experimental mechanics, musculoskeletal system biomechanics, sports biomechanics, mechanics of materials. 
2060 Bainer Hall 
530-752-6220 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/hull
mlhull@ucdavis.edu

 

Karnopp, Dean C.

Professor Emeritus
Mathematical modeling and simulation of dynamic engineering systems using bond graphs, vehicled dynamics, noise and vibration control, automatic control, dynamic optimization of energy systems. 
2012 Bainer Hall 
530-752-3606 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/karnopp/
dckarnopp@ucdavis.edu

 

Kollmann, Wolfgang

Professor Emeritus
Turbulence modeling, turbulent combustion, numerical fluid mechanics. 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/kollmann
wkollmann@ucdavis.edu

 

Margolis, Donald L.

Professor Emeritus
System Dynamics – modeling, simulation, and control of dynamic systems, power plant dynamics, computer controlled suspensions for ground vehicles, vehicle-guideway interactions, vibration control, control of lateral vehicle dynamics. 
2010 Bainer Hall 
530-752-1446 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/margolis/
dlmargolis@ucdavis.edu

 

McKillop, Allan A.

Professor Emeritus 
Heat transfer, fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, numerical methods. 
aamckillop@ucdavis.edu

 

White, Bruce

Professor Emeritus
Turbulent boundary layer flows, aerodynamics, environmental aerodynamics, experimental fluid mechanics, wind engineering, particle flows. 
2052 Bainer Hall 
530-752-6451 
http://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/white
brwhite@ucdavis.edu


Adjunct Faculty

Harris, Walter

Associate Professor, University of Arizona, Department of Planetary Sciences
Planetary atmospheres, Solar and heliospheric physics
http://www.lpl.arizona.edu/resources/faculty?lastname=Harris
wmharris@ucdavis.edu

 

Howell, Stephen M. 

 

Platzer, Maximilian F. 

Associate Professor
Fluid Mechanics, Gas Dynamics. Aeroelasticity. Flight Mechanics. Propulsion. 
http://www.nps.edu/academics/gseas/mae/People.aspx?PersonID=41
mplatzer@nps.edu